Volunteers honored at RSVP banquet

It was a day for honoring and being honored when it came to the 38th Annual Recognition Luncheon held June 16, for members of the RSVP serving Mecosta, Osceola and Lake counties.

The Retired and Senior Volunteer Program had three members named “Volunteer of the Year” in their respective counties, in addition to several receiving recognition for reaching the 1,000 volunteer hours mark.

Milton Wehmeier claimed the Volunteer of the Year Award in Lake County. He has been an active volunteer at the Luther Senior Center for several years, and also works at the meal site.

Recognized for reaching 1,000 hours as a volunteer for RSVP, were Susan Foster, Lois Ingraham, Nadine Nash and Ann Walters, all from Lake County, along with Darlene Burgess of Mecosta County.

Illene Gaffney was the recipient of Osceola County’s Volunteer of the Year recognition, however, was unable to attend the luncheon. According to Sandy Dalrymple, RSVP director, Gaffney volunteers several hours each week driving people to various appointments for both the Osceola County Commission on Aging and RSVP.

In Mecosta County, Ruth Miessen, is a volunteer for American Red Cross blood drives, helps with Focus on Fours, and bakes for fundraisers for RSVP among other activities.

Members of the Mecosta County Sheriff’s Posse marched through the Eagles Club in Big Rapids where the luncheon was held, saluted the American flag and those who served and are serving, then turned toward the crowd, stood at attention, and saluted the volunteers.

Dalrymple said many of those members are also RSVP volunteers.

The Lake-Osceola State Bank provided blue insulated “RSVP” totes for each person attending the event, and both Lori Braginton, the assistant vice president, and Melanie Moffitt, loan organizer, were on hand for the luncheon as well.

Board members and the advisory council representing RSVP were introduced as well.