Commissioners restructure for year ahead

BALDWIN - Lake County commissioners met at the beginnning of the year and organized themselves for another 12-month period of deliberations and local legislatve action.

Board Chair Bob Myers will continue serving in his present position on the board. Board chair is a two-year position so there was no need to nominate or discuss placing a person at that post.

Commissioner Dave Randall was selected by unanimous decision of his colleagues to serve as Vice Chairman for the year to come.

Upon choosing a Vice Chairman Pro Tem, there was a little more activity with Commissioner John Fairbanks nominating Commissioner Larry Collier. Collier, however, declined the nomination and Commissioner Sandy Clarke was then nominated by Commissioner Colleen Carrington. Clarke accepted the nomination.

With no other nominations on the table the selection was made by unanimous vote.

The 2011 meeting schedule was officially set with full board meetings to be held on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month.

It was announced that Carrington will replace Commissioner Scott Williams on the Area Agency on Aging Committee.

Commissioner John Fairbanks will represent the Board  on the MSU District 5 Extension Council. Williams noted he would continue on the FiveCAP Committee and MSU 4H Committee.