4-H Goosechase App event to honor military families, children   

Celebrate “Month of the Military Child” throughout April  

LAKE COUNTRY — As part of the “Month of the Military Child,” Michigan 4-H is hosting a fun, new game.

Complete missions, connect with other youth around the state and learn a little about the military through participation in the popular “Original Scavenger Hunt App.” Simply download the GooseChase app for free and watch the new challenges download weekly.

Compete with others for points and prizes by posting either by text, photo/video or GPS and see where you fall in the rankings daily by checking out the Leaderboard and Activity Feed. Prizes awarded for high points, creative submissions and random drawings!

Any youth ages 13-19 can participate. Younger children or those without a phone or tablet can partner with an older sibling or parent/guardian to play as a Team. Participants do not need to be in 4-H or have any previous military knowledge to play.

April was established as the "Month of the Military Child" in 1986 by Defense Secretary Caspar Weinberger, as a time to honor the sacrifices made by military families worldwide, with an emphasis on the experience of the dependent children of military members serving at home and overseas.

To learn more and register for the Michigan 4-H Month of the Military Child Goosechase Game, please visit canr.msu.edu/events/momcgoose.

To learn more about Michigan 4-H, visit 4h.msue.msu.edu. To contact an expert in your area, visit extension.msu.edu/experts or call 888-MSUE4MI (888-678-3464)

THEMEDWEEKS

• Intro Week, Military 101: Thursday, April 1, through Sunday, April 4

• Week 1, Basic Training: Monday, April 5, through Sunday, April 11

• Week 2, Gratitude: Monday, April 12, through Sunday, April 18

• Week 3, Recognition and Sacrifice: Monday, April 19, through Sunday, April 25.

• Week 4, Military Around the World: Monday, April 26, through Friday, April 30.